CVE-2025-8876
CriticalExploitedPublic exploitImproper Input Validation vulnerability in N-able N-central allows OS Command Injection.This issue affects N-central: before 2025.3.1.
Published Aug 14, 2025 · Updated Oct 27, 2025
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2025-8876 is a critical-severity vulnerability (CVSS 9.4 v4) affecting N-central (N-Able).
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Aug 13, 2025. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 3.4% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including N-central 2025.3.1.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v4
9.4
CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:H/SI:H/SA:H/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
3.4%
Higher than 88.8% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2025-8876 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
Improper Input Validation vulnerability in N-able N-central allows OS Command Injection.This issue affects N-central: before 2025.3.1.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | Aug 13, 2025 | Aug 20, 2025 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | Aug 13, 2025 | Aug 20, 2025 | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Aug 13, 2025 | Aug 20, 2025 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | Aug 13, 2025 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Affected Products
2 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| N-centralN-Able | See advisory | 2025.3.1 |
Patched Releases
N-central
2025.3.1
Timeline
Added to CISA KEV
Aug 13, 2025
Added to Industry KEV feed
Aug 13, 2025
Added to CIRCL KEV
Aug 13, 2025
Added to ENISA EUVD
Aug 13, 2025
Publicly disclosed
Aug 14, 2025
Last updated
Oct 27, 2025
Weakness Type
- CWE-20 Improper Input Validation
- CWE-78 Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in an OS Command ('OS Command Injection')
References
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
FAQ
Common Questions.
Improper Input Validation vulnerability in N-able N-central allows OS Command Injection.This issue affects N-central: before 2025.3.1.
Affected: N-central (N-Able). The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Aug 13, 2025.
Yes. It was added on Aug 13, 2025 with a federal remediation due date of Aug 20, 2025.
Public exploit code is available.
Fixed versions are available, including N-central 2025.3.1.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2025-8876 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo