CVE-2026-42271
HighExploitedPublic exploitLiteLLM: Authenticated command execution via MCP stdio test endpoints
Published Apr 25, 2026 · Updated Sep 10, 2026 · Also known as GHSA-v4p8-mg3p-g94g, PYSEC-2026-2599
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2026-42271 is a high-severity vulnerability (CVSS 8.7 v4) affecting Litellm, Openshift Ai (Redhat), airflow-3 (chainguard) and 4 more products.
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Jun 8, 2026 and is known to be used in ransomware campaigns. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 93% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including airflow-3 3.2.2-r7, airflow-3 3.3.1-r0, Litellm 1.83.10.0-r0.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v4
8.7
CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:P/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:H/SI:N/SA:N/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
93%
Higher than 99.8% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings, used by ransomware
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2026-42271 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
LiteLLM is a proxy server (AI Gateway) to call LLM APIs in OpenAI (or native) format. From version 1.74.2 to before version 1.83.7, two endpoints used to preview an MCP server before saving it — POST /mcp-rest/test/connection and POST /mcp-rest/test/tools/list — accepted a full server configuration in the request body, including the command, args, and env fields used by the stdio transport. When called with a stdio configuration, the endpoints attempted to connect, which spawned the supplied command as a subprocess on the proxy host with the privileges of the proxy process. The endpoints were gated only by a valid proxy API key, with no role check. Any authenticated user — including holders of low-privilege internal-user keys — could therefore run arbitrary commands on the host. This issue has been patched in version 1.83.7.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | Jun 8, 2026 | Jun 22, 2026 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | Jun 8, 2026 | Jun 22, 2026 | Known |
| CIRCL KEV | Jun 8, 2026 | Jun 22, 2026 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | Jun 8, 2026 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Affected Products
13 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| LitellmLitellm | >= 1.74.2, >= >= 1.74.2, < 1.83.7 | 1.83.7 |
| Openshift AiRedhat | 3.4 | 2.25.8 |
| airflow-3chainguard | See advisory | 3.2.2-r7 |
| litellm-1.83minimos | See advisory | 1.83.10-r0 |
| rhoai/odh-llama-stack-core-rhel9:1781826406redhat | See advisory | n/a |
Patched Releases
airflow-3
3.2.2-r7, 3.3.1-r0
Litellm
1.83.10.0-r0, 1.83.7
litellm-1.83
1.83.10-r0
Openshift Ai
2.25.8, 3.3.4
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Apr 25, 2026
Added to CISA KEV
Jun 8, 2026
Added to Industry KEV feed
Jun 8, 2026
Added to CIRCL KEV
Jun 8, 2026
Added to ENISA EUVD
Jun 8, 2026
Last updated
Sep 10, 2026
Weakness Type
- CWE-77 Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in a Command ('Command Injection')
- CWE-78 Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in an OS Command ('OS Command Injection')
References
- advisoryRHSA-2026:27784
- advisoryRHSA-2026:28960
- advisoryRHSA-2026:30056
- advisoryGHSA advisory
- advisoryhttps://github.com/CVEProject/cvelistV5/tree/main/cves/2026/42xxx/CVE-2026-42271.json
FAQ
Common Questions.
LiteLLM is a proxy server (AI Gateway) to call LLM APIs in OpenAI (or native) format.
Affected: Litellm versions >= 1.74.2, >= >= 1.74.2, < 1.83.7; Openshift Ai (Redhat) versions 3.4; airflow-3 (chainguard), among others. The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Jun 8, 2026 and is known to be used in ransomware campaigns.
Yes. It was added on Jun 8, 2026 with a federal remediation due date of Jun 22, 2026.
Public exploit code is available.
Fixed versions are available, including airflow-3 3.2.2-r7, airflow-3 3.3.1-r0, Litellm 1.83.10.0-r0.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2026-42271 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo