CVE-2026-42016
HighExploitedPublic exploitJFrog Artifactory (Self Hosted) versions before 7.133.11 are vulnerable to a privilege escalation attack due to a validation check of the token signature/issuer and not the token’s scope.
Published Jul 27, 2026 · Updated Sep 12, 2026 · Also known as EUVD-2026-49566, GHSA-58cv-8cfm-c8r8, TR-26-0651
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2026-42016 is a high-severity vulnerability (CVSS 8.8 v3.1) affecting Artifactory (Jfrog).
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Sep 10, 2026. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 8.6% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including Artifactory 7.133.11.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
8.8
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
8.6%
Higher than 95.0% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2026-42016 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
JFrog Artifactory (Self Hosted) versions before 7.133.11 are vulnerable to a privilege escalation attack due to a validation check of the token signature/issuer and not the token’s scope.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | Sep 11, 2026 | Sep 25, 2026 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | Sep 10, 2026 | Sep 25, 2026 | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Sep 10, 2026 | Sep 25, 2026 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | Sep 11, 2026 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply mitigations in accordance with vendor instructions, ensuring compliance with CISA’s BOD 26-04 Prioritizing Security Updates Based on Risk (see URL in Notes) guidance and CISA’s “Forensics Triage Requirements” (see URL in Notes). Follow applicable BOD 26-04 guidance for cloud services or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Stakeholders are responsible for evaluating each asset's internet exposure and ensuring adherence to BOD 26-04 patching guidelines.
Affected Products
2 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| ArtifactoryJfrog | See advisory | 7.133.11 |
Patched Releases
Artifactory
7.133.11
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Jul 27, 2026
Added to Industry KEV feed
Sep 10, 2026
Added to CIRCL KEV
Sep 10, 2026
Added to CISA KEV
Sep 11, 2026
Added to ENISA EUVD
Sep 11, 2026
Last updated
Sep 12, 2026
Weakness Type
- CWE-863 Incorrect Authorization
References
- advisoryUSOM advisory
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- otherhttps://docs.jfrog.com/releases/docs/artifactory-self-managed-releases
- otherhttps://docs.jfrog.com/releases/docs/jfrog-security-advisories
FAQ
Common Questions.
JFrog Artifactory (Self Hosted) versions before 7.133.11 are vulnerable to a privilege escalation attack due to a validation check of the token signature/issuer and not the token’s scope.
Affected: Artifactory (Jfrog). The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Sep 10, 2026.
Yes. It was added on Sep 11, 2026 with a federal remediation due date of Sep 25, 2026.
Public exploit code is available.
Fixed versions are available, including Artifactory 7.133.11.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2026-42016 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo