CVE-2025-29635
HighExploitedPublic exploitA command injection vulnerability in D-Link DIR-823X 240126 and 240802 allows an authorized attacker to execute arbitrary commands on remote devices by sending a POST request to /goform/set_prohibiting via the corresponding function, triggering remote command execution.
Published Mar 25, 2025 · Updated Apr 25, 2026
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2025-29635 is a high-severity vulnerability (CVSS 7.2 v3.1) affecting Dir-823x Firmware (Dlink).
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Apr 21, 2026. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 88% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- No fixed version is listed yet; check the vendor advisory for mitigations.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
7.2
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
88%
Higher than 99.7% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2025-29635 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
A command injection vulnerability in D-Link DIR-823X 240126 and 240802 allows an authorized attacker to execute arbitrary commands on remote devices by sending a POST request to /goform/set_prohibiting via the corresponding function, triggering remote command execution.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | Apr 24, 2026 | May 8, 2026 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | Apr 21, 2026 | May 8, 2026 | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Apr 24, 2026 | May 8, 2026 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | Apr 24, 2026 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Affected Products
2 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| Dir-823x FirmwareDlink | 240126, 240802 | n/a |
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Mar 25, 2025
Added to Industry KEV feed
Apr 21, 2026
Added to CISA KEV
Apr 24, 2026
Added to CIRCL KEV
Apr 24, 2026
Added to ENISA EUVD
Apr 24, 2026
Last updated
Apr 25, 2026
Weakness Type
- CWE-77 Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in a Command ('Command Injection')
References
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
FAQ
Common Questions.
A command injection vulnerability in D-Link DIR-823X 240126 and 240802 allows an authorized attacker to execute arbitrary commands on remote devices by sending a POST request to /goform/set_prohibiting via the corresponding function, triggering remote command execution.
Affected: Dir-823x Firmware (Dlink) versions 240126, 240802. The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Apr 21, 2026.
Yes. It was added on Apr 24, 2026 with a federal remediation due date of May 8, 2026.
Public exploit code is available.
No fixed version is listed yet; check the vendor advisory for mitigations.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2025-29635 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo