CVE-2026-86218
CriticalExploitedPublic exploitN-central is vulnerable to a pre-auth remote code execution This issue affects N-central: before 2026.3.1.14.
Published Sep 6, 2026 · Updated Sep 9, 2026 · Also known as EUVD-2026-72041, GHSA-5f24-g9g9-m3v8
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2026-86218 is a critical-severity vulnerability (CVSS 10.0 v4) affecting N-central (N-Able).
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Sep 6, 2026. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 13% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including N-central 2026.3, N-central 2026.3.1.14.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v4
10.0
CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:N/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:H/SI:H/SA:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
13%
Higher than 96.3% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2026-86218 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
N-central is vulnerable to a pre-auth remote code execution This issue affects N-central: before 2026.3.1.14.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | Sep 8, 2026 | Sep 11, 2026 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | Sep 6, 2026 | Sep 11, 2026 | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Sep 6, 2026 | Sep 11, 2026 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | Sep 8, 2026 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply mitigations in accordance with vendor instructions, ensuring compliance with CISA’s BOD 26-04 Prioritizing Security Updates Based on Risk (see URL in Notes) guidance and CISA’s “Forensics Triage Requirements” (see URL in Notes). Follow applicable BOD 26-04 guidance for cloud services or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Stakeholders are responsible for evaluating each asset's internet exposure and ensuring adherence to BOD 26-04 patching guidelines.
Affected Products
7 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| N-centralN-Able | 2026.3, 2026.3-hotfix1, 2026.3-hotfix2, 2026.3-hotfix3 | 2026.3 |
Patched Releases
N-central
2026.3, 2026.3.1.14
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Sep 6, 2026
Added to Industry KEV feed
Sep 6, 2026
Added to CIRCL KEV
Sep 6, 2026
Added to CISA KEV
Sep 8, 2026
Added to ENISA EUVD
Sep 8, 2026
Last updated
Sep 9, 2026
Weakness Type
- CWE-96 Improper Neutralization of Directives in Statically Saved Code ('Static Code Injection')
References
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitMSF nable_ncentral_unauth_rce_cve_2026_86218.rb
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
FAQ
Common Questions.
N-central is vulnerable to a pre-auth remote code execution This issue affects N-central: before 2026.3.1.14.
Affected: N-central (N-Able) versions 2026.3, 2026.3-hotfix1, 2026.3-hotfix2, 2026.3-hotfix3. The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Sep 6, 2026.
Yes. It was added on Sep 8, 2026 with a federal remediation due date of Sep 11, 2026.
Public exploit code is available.
Fixed versions are available, including N-central 2026.3, N-central 2026.3.1.14.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2026-86218 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo