Skip to content
Vulnerability Intelligence

CVE-2026-81578

HighExploitedPublic exploit

An improper access control vulnerability exists in the web management interface of PaperCut MF and PaperCut NG.

Published Aug 28, 2026 · Updated Sep 14, 2026

Key Facts

Patch immediately
  • CVE-2026-81578 is a high-severity vulnerability (CVSS 8.8 v4) affecting Papercut Mf, Papercut Ng, PaperCut MF/NG.
  • It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Aug 27, 2026. Public exploit code is available.
  • EPSS estimates a 86% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
  • Fixed versions are available, including PaperCut MF/NG 24.1.10, PaperCut MF/NG 24.1.10, 25.0.13, 26.0.5, PaperCut MF/NG 25.0.13.
  • Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.

CVSS v4

8.8

CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:N/UI:N/VC:L/VI:H/VA:L/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N

EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)

86%

Higher than 99.7% of all scored CVEs

Exploited in the wild

Yes

4 catalog listings

Public exploit code

Available

Proof-of-concept or weaponized module

Get the full CVE-2026-81578 brief as a PDF

Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.

Description

An improper access control vulnerability exists in the web management interface of PaperCut MF and PaperCut NG. Under specific conditions, unauthenticated remote requests targeting administrative functions can trigger backend actions prior to the completion of access validation checks. This allows an unauthenticated remote attacker to modify certain system configurations.

Known-Exploited Catalog Listings

CatalogAddedRemediation dueRansomware use
CISA KEVAug 31, 2026Sep 14, 2026Not reported
Industry KEV feedAug 28, 2026Sep 14, 2026Not reported
CIRCL KEVAug 27, 2026Sep 14, 2026Not reported
ENISA EUVDAug 27, 2026n/aNot reported

Required action: Apply mitigations in accordance with vendor instructions, ensuring compliance with CISA’s BOD 26-04 Prioritizing Security Updates Based on Risk (see URL in Notes) guidance and CISA’s “Forensics Triage Requirements” (see URL in Notes). Follow applicable BOD 26-04 guidance for cloud services or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Stakeholders are responsible for evaluating each asset's internet exposure and ensuring adherence to BOD 26-04 patching guidelines.

Affected Products

3 affected entries in total
ProductAffected versionsFixed in
Papercut MfPapercutSee advisory24.1.9
Papercut NgPapercutSee advisory24.1.9
PaperCut MF/NG>= 25.0.024.1.10, 25.0.13, 26.0.5

Patched Releases

PaperCut MF/NG

24.1.10, 24.1.10, 25.0.13, 26.0.5, 25.0.13, 26.0.5

Papercut Mf

24.1.9, 25.0.12, 26.0.4

Papercut Ng

24.1.9, 25.0.12, 26.0.4

Timeline

  1. Added to CIRCL KEV

    Aug 27, 2026

  2. Added to ENISA EUVD

    Aug 27, 2026

  3. Publicly disclosed

    Aug 28, 2026

  4. Added to Industry KEV feed

    Aug 28, 2026

  5. Added to CISA KEV

    Aug 31, 2026

  6. Last updated

    Sep 14, 2026

Weakness Type

  • CWE-305 Authentication Bypass by Primary Weakness

References

8 more references in the full CVE brief

FAQ

Common Questions.

Is CVE-2026-81578 Running On Your Attack Surface?

Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.

Request A Demo