CVE-2026-60004
CriticalExploitedPublic exploitGitea before 1.27.1 allows remote code execution via the diffpatch API through Git hook installation.
Published Aug 26, 2026 · Updated Sep 27, 2026 · Also known as BIT-gitea-2026-60004, EUVD-2026-66708, GHSA-rcr6-4jqh-j84m, GO-2026-6433
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2026-60004 is a critical-severity vulnerability (CVSS 9.8 v3.1) affecting Gitea, forgejo (alpine), gitea-fips (chainguard) and 2 more products.
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Aug 19, 2026. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 24% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including forgejo 15.0.6-r0, Gitea 1.27.1, Gitea 1.27.1-r0.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
9.8
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
24%
Higher than 97.8% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2026-60004 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
Gitea before 1.27.1 allows remote code execution via the diffpatch API through Git hook installation.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | Aug 25, 2026 | Aug 28, 2026 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | Aug 19, 2026 | Aug 28, 2026 | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Aug 25, 2026 | Aug 28, 2026 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | Aug 25, 2026 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply mitigations in accordance with vendor instructions, ensuring compliance with CISA’s BOD 26-04 Prioritizing Security Updates Based on Risk (see URL in Notes) guidance and CISA’s “Forensics Triage Requirements” (see URL in Notes). Follow applicable BOD 26-04 guidance for cloud services or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Stakeholders are responsible for evaluating each asset's internet exposure and ensuring adherence to BOD 26-04 patching guidelines.
Affected Products
23 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| GiteaGitea | >= 1.17.0, >= 1.17 | 1.27.1 |
| forgejoalpine | See advisory | 15.0.6-r0 |
| gitea-fipschainguard | See advisory | 1.27.1-r0 |
| code.gitea.io/giteago | >= 1.17.0 | n/a |
| gitea.devgo | >= 1.17.0 | 1.27.1 |
Patched Releases
forgejo
15.0.6-r0
Gitea
1.27.1, 1.27.1-r0
gitea-fips
1.27.1-r0
gitea.dev
1.27.1
Timeline
Added to Industry KEV feed
Aug 19, 2026
Added to CISA KEV
Aug 25, 2026
Added to CIRCL KEV
Aug 25, 2026
Added to ENISA EUVD
Aug 25, 2026
Publicly disclosed
Aug 26, 2026
Last updated
Sep 27, 2026
Weakness Type
- CWE-94 Improper Control of Generation of Code ('Code Injection')
References
- advisoryGHSA advisory
- advisoryhttps://github.com/CVEProject/cvelistV5/tree/main/cves/2026/60xxx/CVE-2026-60004.json
- advisoryhttps://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-60004
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
FAQ
Common Questions.
Gitea before 1.27.1 allows remote code execution via the diffpatch API through Git hook installation.
Affected: Gitea versions >= 1.17.0, >= 1.17; forgejo (alpine); gitea-fips (chainguard), among others. The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Aug 19, 2026.
Yes. It was added on Aug 25, 2026 with a federal remediation due date of Aug 28, 2026.
Public exploit code is available.
Fixed versions are available, including forgejo 15.0.6-r0, Gitea 1.27.1, Gitea 1.27.1-r0.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2026-60004 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo