CVE-2026-59774
CriticalExploitedGitea's Org-mode markup renderer processes INCLUDE directives supplied to the repository markup endpoint without preventing access to server-side files.
Published Oct 14, 2026 · Updated Oct 16, 2026 · Also known as EUVD-2026-101281, GHSA-6v53-hr58-556r
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2026-59774 is a critical-severity vulnerability (CVSS 9.8 v3.1) affecting Gitea (alpine), gitea.dev.
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV since Oct 15, 2026. No public exploit code is known.
- EPSS estimates a 28% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including Gitea 1.27.1-r0, Gitea 1.27.1, gitea.dev 1.27.1.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
9.8
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
28%
Higher than 98.1% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
2 catalog listings
Public exploit code
None known
Get the full CVE-2026-59774 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
Gitea's Org-mode markup renderer processes INCLUDE directives supplied to the repository markup endpoint without preventing access to server-side files. An unauthenticated attacker can use a suitable public repository to read files accessible to the Gitea service account. If the disclosed files include app.ini and its INTERNAL_TOKEN, the attacker can chain the disclosure with internal logger access to modify a Git hook and execute commands as the Gitea service account.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Industry KEV feed | Oct 15, 2026 | n/a | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Oct 15, 2026 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply remediations or mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if remediation or mitigations are unavailable.
Affected Products
3 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| Giteaalpine | >= 1.22 | 1.27.1-r0 |
| gitea.dev | >= 1.22 | 1.27.1 |
Patched Releases
Gitea
1.27.1-r0, 1.27.1
gitea.dev
1.27.1
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Oct 14, 2026
Added to Industry KEV feed
Oct 15, 2026
Added to CIRCL KEV
Oct 15, 2026
Last updated
Oct 16, 2026
Weakness Type
- CWE-22 Improper Limitation of a Pathname to a Restricted Directory ('Path Traversal')
References
- advisoryhttps://github.com/CVEProject/cvelistV5/tree/main/cves/2026/59xxx/CVE-2026-59774.json
- advisoryhttps://github.com/go-gitea/gitea/security/advisories
- advisoryhttps://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-59774
- advisoryUSOM advisory
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
FAQ
Common Questions.
Gitea's Org-mode markup renderer processes INCLUDE directives supplied to the repository markup endpoint without preventing access to server-side files.
Affected: Gitea (alpine) versions >= 1.22; gitea.dev versions >= 1.22. The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV since Oct 15, 2026.
No, it is not currently listed in the CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog.
No public exploit code is known.
Fixed versions are available, including Gitea 1.27.1-r0, Gitea 1.27.1, gitea.dev 1.27.1.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2026-59774 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo