CVE-2026-19478
CriticalExploitedGitLab has remediated an issue in GitLab CE/EE affecting all versions from 18.2 before 18.11.11, 19.0 before 19.0.8, 19.1 before 19.1.6, and 19.2 before 19.2.4 that under certain conditions could allow an unauthenticated user to remotely modify or delete public projects and user…
Published Aug 17, 2026 · Updated Sep 10, 2026 · Also known as BIT-gitlab-2026-19478, EUVD-2026-60443, GHSA-6whr-xjjm-6pf8
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2026-19478 is a critical-severity vulnerability (CVSS 9.1 v3.1) affecting GitLab, gitlab-rails-19.1 (minimos), gitlab-rails-19.2 (minimos).
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV since Aug 19, 2026. No public exploit code is known.
- EPSS estimates a 60% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including GitLab 18.11.11, GitLab 19.0.8, GitLab 19.1.6.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
9.1
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:H/A:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
60%
Higher than 99.1% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
2 catalog listings
Public exploit code
None known
Get the full CVE-2026-19478 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
GitLab has remediated an issue in GitLab CE/EE affecting all versions from 18.2 before 18.11.11, 19.0 before 19.0.8, 19.1 before 19.1.6, and 19.2 before 19.2.4 that under certain conditions could allow an unauthenticated user to remotely modify or delete public projects and user data via a GraphQL directive.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Industry KEV feed | Aug 19, 2026 | n/a | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Aug 21, 2026 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply remediations or mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if remediation or mitigations are unavailable.
Affected Products
7 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| GitLabGitlab | >= 18.2.0, >= 19.1 | 18.11.11 |
| gitlab-rails-19.1minimos | See advisory | 19.1.6-r0 |
| gitlab-rails-19.2minimos | See advisory | 19.2.4-r0 |
Patched Releases
GitLab
18.11.11, 19.0.8, 19.1.6, 19.2.4
gitlab-rails-19.1
19.1.6-r0
gitlab-rails-19.2
19.2.4-r0
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Aug 17, 2026
Added to Industry KEV feed
Aug 19, 2026
Added to CIRCL KEV
Aug 21, 2026
Last updated
Sep 10, 2026
Weakness Type
- CWE-94 Improper Control of Generation of Code ('Code Injection')
References
- advisoryhttps://github.com/CVEProject/cvelistV5/tree/main/cves/2026/19xxx/CVE-2026-19478.json
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
FAQ
Common Questions.
GitLab has remediated an issue in GitLab CE/EE affecting all versions from 18.2 before 18.11.11, 19.0 before 19.0.8, 19.1 before 19.1.6, and 19.2 before 19.2.4 that under certain conditions could allow an unauthenticated user to remotely modify or delete public projects and user data via a GraphQL directive.
Affected: GitLab versions >= 18.2.0, >= 19.1; gitlab-rails-19.1 (minimos); gitlab-rails-19.2 (minimos). The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV since Aug 19, 2026.
No, it is not currently listed in the CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog.
No public exploit code is known.
Fixed versions are available, including GitLab 18.11.11, GitLab 19.0.8, GitLab 19.1.6.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2026-19478 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo