CVE-2026-18556
HighExploitedPublic exploitAuthentication bypass using an alternate path or channel vulnerability in N-able N-central allows Authentication Bypass.
Published Aug 1, 2026 · Updated Aug 5, 2026 · Also known as EUVD-2026-51918
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2026-18556 is a high-severity vulnerability (CVSS 8.2 v4) affecting N-central (N-Able).
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Aug 1, 2026. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 7.9% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including N-central 2026.1.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v4
8.2
CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:H/AT:N/PR:N/UI:N/VC:H/VI:N/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
7.9%
Higher than 94.6% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2026-18556 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
Authentication bypass using an alternate path or channel vulnerability in N-able N-central allows Authentication Bypass.
This issue affects N-central: through 2026.1.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | Aug 4, 2026 | Aug 7, 2026 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | Aug 1, 2026 | Aug 7, 2026 | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Aug 1, 2026 | Aug 7, 2026 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | Aug 4, 2026 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply mitigations in accordance with vendor instructions, ensuring compliance with CISA’s BOD 26-04 Prioritizing Security Updates Based on Risk (see URL in Notes) guidance and CISA’s “Forensics Triage Requirements” (see URL in Notes). Follow applicable BOD 26-04 guidance for cloud services or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Stakeholders are responsible for evaluating each asset's internet exposure and ensuring adherence to BOD 26-04 patching guidelines.
Affected Products
3 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| N-centralN-Able | See advisory | 2026.1 |
Patched Releases
N-central
2026.1
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Aug 1, 2026
Added to Industry KEV feed
Aug 1, 2026
Added to CIRCL KEV
Aug 1, 2026
Added to CISA KEV
Aug 4, 2026
Added to ENISA EUVD
Aug 4, 2026
Last updated
Aug 5, 2026
Weakness Type
- CWE-288 Authentication Bypass Using an Alternate Path or Channel
References
- advisoryhttps://www.n-able.com/blog/n-central-security-update-august-2-2026
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
FAQ
Common Questions.
Authentication bypass using an alternate path or channel vulnerability in N-able N-central allows Authentication Bypass.
Affected: N-central (N-Able). The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Aug 1, 2026.
Yes. It was added on Aug 4, 2026 with a federal remediation due date of Aug 7, 2026.
Public exploit code is available.
Fixed versions are available, including N-central 2026.1.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2026-18556 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo