Skip to content
Vulnerability Intelligence

CVE-2023-45727

HighExploitedPublic exploit

Proself Enterprise/Standard Edition Ver5.62 and earlier, Proself Gateway Edition Ver1.65 and earlier, and Proself Mail Sanitize Edition Ver1.08 and earlier allow a remote unauthenticated attacker to conduct XML External Entity (XXE) attacks.

Published Oct 18, 2023 · Updated Oct 24, 2025

Key Facts

Patch immediately
  • CVE-2023-45727 is a high-severity vulnerability (CVSS 7.5 v3.1) affecting Proself (Northgrid), Proself Enterprise/Standard Edition, Proself Gateway Edition and 1 more product.
  • It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Sep 13, 2024. Public exploit code is available.
  • EPSS estimates a 3.5% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
  • Fixed versions are available, including Proself 1.09, Proself 1.66, Proself 5.63.
  • Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.

CVSS v3.1

7.5

CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N

EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)

3.5%

Higher than 89.1% of all scored CVEs

Exploited in the wild

Yes

4 catalog listings

Public exploit code

Available

Proof-of-concept or weaponized module

Get the full CVE-2023-45727 brief as a PDF

Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.

Description

Proself Enterprise/Standard Edition Ver5.62 and earlier, Proself Gateway Edition Ver1.65 and earlier, and Proself Mail Sanitize Edition Ver1.08 and earlier allow a remote unauthenticated attacker to conduct XML External Entity (XXE) attacks. By processing a specially crafted request containing malformed XML data, arbitrary files on the server containing account information may be read by the attacker.

Known-Exploited Catalog Listings

CatalogAddedRemediation dueRansomware use
CISA KEVDec 3, 2024Dec 24, 2024Not reported
Industry KEV feedSep 13, 2024Dec 24, 2024Not reported
CIRCL KEVDec 3, 2024Dec 24, 2024Not reported
ENISA EUVDDec 3, 2024n/aNot reported

Required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.

Affected Products

7 affected entries in total
ProductAffected versionsFixed in
ProselfNorthgridSee advisory5.63
Proself Enterprise/Standard Edition>= Ver5.62 and earliern/a
Proself Gateway Edition>= Ver1.65 and earliern/a
Proself Mail Sanitize Edition>= Ver1.08 and earliern/a

Patched Releases

Proself

1.09, 1.66, 5.63

Timeline

  1. Publicly disclosed

    Oct 18, 2023

  2. Added to Industry KEV feed

    Sep 13, 2024

  3. Added to CISA KEV

    Dec 3, 2024

  4. Added to CIRCL KEV

    Dec 3, 2024

  5. Added to ENISA EUVD

    Dec 3, 2024

  6. Last updated

    Oct 24, 2025

Weakness Type

  • CWE-611 Improper Restriction of XML External Entity Reference

References

1 more references in the full CVE brief

FAQ

Common Questions.

Is CVE-2023-45727 Running On Your Attack Surface?

Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.

Request A Demo