Skip to content
Vulnerability Intelligence

CVE-2026-48558

CriticalExploitedPublic exploit

SimpleHelp versions 5.5.15 and prior and 6.0 pre-release versions contain an authentication bypass vulnerability in the OIDC authentication flow.

Published Jun 12, 2026 · Updated Oct 7, 2026

Key Facts

Patch immediately
  • CVE-2026-48558 is a critical-severity vulnerability (CVSS 9.5 v4) affecting SimpleHelp (Simple-Help).
  • It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Jun 29, 2026. Public exploit code is available.
  • EPSS estimates a 5.7% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
  • Fixed versions are available, including SimpleHelp 5.5.16, SimpleHelp 6.0 rc2.
  • Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.

CVSS v4

9.5

CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:P/PR:N/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:H/SI:H/SA:H

EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)

5.7%

Higher than 92.9% of all scored CVEs

Exploited in the wild

Yes

4 catalog listings

Public exploit code

Available

Proof-of-concept or weaponized module

Get the full CVE-2026-48558 brief as a PDF

Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.

Description

SimpleHelp versions 5.5.15 and prior and 6.0 pre-release versions contain an authentication bypass vulnerability in the OIDC authentication flow. When OIDC authentication is configured, identity tokens submitted during login are accepted without verifying their cryptographic signature. In a vulnerable configuration, a remote, unauthenticated attacker can submit a forged token containing arbitrary identity claims to obtain a fully authenticated technician session. In some configurations, this may also allow bypass of multi-factor authentication. No user interaction is required.

Known-Exploited Catalog Listings

CatalogAddedRemediation dueRansomware use
CISA KEVJun 29, 2026Jul 2, 2026Not reported
Industry KEV feedJun 29, 2026Jul 2, 2026Not reported
CIRCL KEVJun 29, 2026Jul 2, 2026Not reported
ENISA EUVDJun 29, 2026n/aNot reported

Required action: Apply mitigations in accordance with vendor instructions, ensuring compliance with CISA’s BOD 26-04 Prioritizing Security Updates Based on Risk (see URL in Notes) guidance and CISA’s “Forensics Triage Requirements” (see URL in Notes). Follow applicable BOD 26-04 guidance for cloud services or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Stakeholders are responsible for evaluating each asset's internet exposure and ensuring adherence to BOD 26-04 patching guidelines.

Affected Products

3 affected entries in total
ProductAffected versionsFixed in
SimpleHelpSimple-Help6.0-pre-release, >= 5.5.05.5.16

Patched Releases

SimpleHelp

5.5.16, 6.0 rc2, 6.0 RC2

Timeline

  1. Publicly disclosed

    Jun 12, 2026

  2. Added to CISA KEV

    Jun 29, 2026

  3. Added to Industry KEV feed

    Jun 29, 2026

  4. Added to CIRCL KEV

    Jun 29, 2026

  5. Added to ENISA EUVD

    Jun 29, 2026

  6. Last updated

    Oct 7, 2026

Weakness Type

  • CWE-347 Improper Verification of Cryptographic Signature

References

7 more references in the full CVE brief

FAQ

Common Questions.

Is CVE-2026-48558 Running On Your Attack Surface?

Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.

Request A Demo