Skip to content
On CISA KEVMedium

CVE-2026-36425

Any local user can open the device and send process termination requests without privilege validation.

Published Jul 16, 2026 · Updated Jul 17, 2026

Key Facts

Patch immediately
  • CVE-2026-36425 is a medium-severity vulnerability (CVSS 6.5 v3.1).
  • It is exploited in the wild, listed in Industry KEV feed since Aug 26, 2026. No public exploit code is known.
  • EPSS estimates a 0.4% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
  • No fixed version is listed yet; check the vendor advisory for mitigations.
  • Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.

Scores

CVSS v3.1

6.5

CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N

EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)

0.4%

Higher than 33.6% of all scored CVEs

Exploit maturity

Exploited (KEV)

ATLAS score

50/100

Publication score, see How it works

Exploitation Verdict

KEV listed

Aug 26, 2026

41 days after publication

Federal due date

None

No federal due date

Ransomware use

Not reported

Attributed actors

None named

Exploit & Defence Guidance

Exploit maturity

Exploited (KEV)

Public exploit code

3

Proof-of-concept links

In-the-wild evidence

1

Reports of active use

Description

An issue in OPSWAT AppRemover Driver (ardrv.sys) v2017.10.02.1551 and earlier in IOCTL handler 0x2420031. Any local user can open the device and send process termination requests without privilege validation.

Known-Exploited Catalog Listings

CatalogAddedRemediation dueRansomware use
Industry KEV feedAug 26, 2026n/aNot reported

Timeline

  1. Publicly disclosed

    Jul 16, 2026

  2. Last updated

    Jul 17, 2026

  3. Added to Industry KEV feed

    Aug 26, 2026

Weakness Type

  • CWE-269 Improper Privilege Management

FAQ

Common Questions.

Is CVE-2026-36425 On Your Attack Surface?

Brandefense matches it against the products discovered on your perimeter and opens a finding the day a CVE like this is listed.

Request A Demo

More vulnerabilities

Figures as of Nov 1, 2026. Compiled by Brandefense technologies from public vulnerability catalogs; scoring as described in How it works.

To report an error, contact Brandefense.