CVE-2026-25253OpenClaw Vulnerability
OpenClaw/Clawdbot has 1-Click RCE via Authentication Token Exfiltration From gatewayUrl
Published Feb 2, 2026 · Updated Oct 21, 2026 · Also known as GHSA-g8p2-7wf7-98mq
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2026-25253 is a high-severity vulnerability (CVSS 8.8 v3.1) affecting OpenClaw, clawdbot (npm).
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in Industry KEV feed since Feb 19, 2026. A public exploit is reported by tracking sources, but no code link is listed yet.
- EPSS estimates a 24% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including clawdbot 2026.1.29, OpenClaw 2026.1.29.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Scores
CVSS v3.1
8.8
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
24%
Higher than 97.8% of all scored CVEs
Exploit maturity
Exploited (KEV)
ATLAS score
51/100
Publication score, see How it works
Exploitation Verdict
KEV listed
Feb 19, 2026
17 days after publication
Federal due date
None
No federal due date
Ransomware use
Not reported
Attributed actors
None named
Exploit & Defence Guidance
Exploit maturity
Exploited (KEV)
Public exploit code
0
Proof-of-concept links
In-the-wild evidence
1
Reports of active use
Advisories And Exploit References
Description
OpenClaw (aka clawdbot or Moltbot) before 2026.1.29 obtains a gatewayUrl value from a query string and automatically makes a WebSocket connection without prompting, sending a token value.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Industry KEV feed | Feb 19, 2026 | n/a | Not reported |
Affected Products
3 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| OpenClawOpenclaw | See advisory | 2026.1.29 |
| clawdbotnpm | See advisory | 2026.1.29 |
Patched Releases
clawdbot
2026.1.29
OpenClaw
2026.1.29
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Feb 2, 2026
Added to Industry KEV feed
Feb 19, 2026
Last updated
Oct 21, 2026
Weakness Type
- CWE-668 Exposure of Resource to Wrong Sphere
- CWE-669 Incorrect Resource Transfer Between Spheres
References
- advisorycve.org · CVERecord
- advisorynvd.nist.gov · CVE-2026-25253
- advisoryGHSA advisory
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- articledepthfirst.com · 1-click-rce-to-steal-your-moltbot-data-and-keys
FAQ
Common Questions.
OpenClaw (aka clawdbot or Moltbot) before 2026.1.29 obtains a gatewayUrl value from a query string and automatically makes a WebSocket connection without prompting, sending a token value.
Affected: OpenClaw; clawdbot (npm). The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in Industry KEV feed since Feb 19, 2026.
No, it is not currently listed in the CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog.
A public exploit is reported by tracking sources, but no code link is listed yet.
Fixed versions are available, including clawdbot 2026.1.29, OpenClaw 2026.1.29.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2026-25253 On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense matches it against the products discovered on your perimeter and opens a finding the day a CVE like this is listed.
Request A Demo