Skip to content
On CISA KEVMedium

CVE-2025-71257FootPrints Missing Authentication

BMC FootPrints ITSM versions 20.20.02 through 20.24.01.001 contain an authentication bypass vulnerability due to improper enforcement of security filters on restricted REST API endpoints and servlets.

Published Mar 19, 2026 · Updated Aug 14, 2026

Key Facts

Patch immediately
  • CVE-2025-71257 is a medium-severity vulnerability (CVSS 6.9 v4) affecting FootPrints (Bmc), Footprints Itsm (Bmc).
  • It is exploited in the wild, listed in Industry KEV feed since Apr 1, 2026. A public exploit is reported by tracking sources, but no code link is listed yet.
  • EPSS estimates a 45% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
  • Fixed versions are available, including FootPrints 20.24.01.001, Footprints Itsm 20.24.01.001.
  • Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.

Scores

CVSS v4

6.9

CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:N/UI:N/VC:L/VI:L/VA:L/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N/E:X/CR:X/IR:X/AR:X/MAV:X/MAC:X/MAT:X/MPR:X/MUI:X/MVC:X/MVI:X/MVA:X/MSC:X/MSI:X/MSA:X/S:X/AU:X/R:X/V:X/RE:X/U:X

EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)

45%

Higher than 98.7% of all scored CVEs

Exploit maturity

Exploited (KEV)

ATLAS score

47/100

Publication score, see How it works

Exploitation Verdict

KEV listed

Apr 1, 2026

13 days after publication

Federal due date

None

No federal due date

Ransomware use

Not reported

Attributed actors

None named

Exploit & Defence Guidance

Exploit maturity

Exploited (KEV)

Public exploit code

0

Proof-of-concept links

In-the-wild evidence

11

Reports of active use

Description

BMC FootPrints ITSM versions 20.20.02 through 20.24.01.001 contain an authentication bypass vulnerability due to improper enforcement of security filters on restricted REST API endpoints and servlets. Unauthenticated remote attackers can bypass access controls to invoke restricted functionality and gain unauthorized access to application data and modify system resources.

The following hotfixes remediate the vulnerability: 20.20.02, 20.20.03.002, 20.21.01.001, 20.21.02.002, 20.22.01, 20.22.01.001, 20.23.01, 20.23.01.002, and 20.24.01.

Known-Exploited Catalog Listings

CatalogAddedRemediation dueRansomware use
Industry KEV feedApr 1, 2026n/aNot reported

Affected Products

3 affected entries in total
ProductAffected versionsFixed in
FootPrintsBmc>= 20.20.0220.24.01.001
Footprints ItsmBmcSee advisory20.24.01.001

Patched Releases

FootPrints

20.24.01.001

Footprints Itsm

20.24.01.001

Timeline

  1. Publicly disclosed

    Mar 19, 2026

  2. Added to Industry KEV feed

    Apr 1, 2026

  3. Last updated

    Aug 14, 2026

Weakness Type

  • CWE-306 Missing Authentication for Critical Function

FAQ

Common Questions.

Is CVE-2025-71257 On Your Attack Surface?

Brandefense matches it against the products discovered on your perimeter and opens a finding the day a CVE like this is listed.

Request A Demo

More vulnerabilities

Figures as of Oct 24, 2026. Compiled by Brandefense technologies from public vulnerability catalogs; scoring as described in How it works.

To report an error, contact Brandefense.