CVE-2024-48248
HighExploitedPublic exploitNAKIVO Backup & Replication before 11.0.0.88174 allows absolute path traversal for reading files via getImageByPath to /c/router (this may lead to remote code execution across the enterprise because PhysicalDiscovery has cleartext credentials).
Published Mar 4, 2025 · Updated Sep 24, 2026
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2024-48248 is a high-severity vulnerability (CVSS 8.6 v3.1) affecting Backup \& Replication Director (Nakivo), Backup & Replication Director.
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Mar 16, 2025. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 94% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including Backup & Replication Director 11.0.0.88174, Backup \& Replication Director 11.0.0.88174.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
8.6
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:N/A:N
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
94%
Higher than 99.8% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2024-48248 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
NAKIVO Backup & Replication before 11.0.0.88174 allows absolute path traversal for reading files via getImageByPath to /c/router (this may lead to remote code execution across the enterprise because PhysicalDiscovery has cleartext credentials).
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | Mar 19, 2025 | Apr 9, 2025 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | Mar 16, 2025 | Apr 9, 2025 | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Mar 16, 2025 | Apr 9, 2025 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | Mar 19, 2025 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Affected Products
2 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| Backup \& Replication DirectorNakivo | See advisory | 11.0.0.88174 |
| Backup & Replication Director | See advisory | 11.0.0.88174 |
Patched Releases
Backup & Replication Director
11.0.0.88174
Backup \& Replication Director
11.0.0.88174
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Mar 4, 2025
Added to Industry KEV feed
Mar 16, 2025
Added to CIRCL KEV
Mar 16, 2025
Added to CISA KEV
Mar 19, 2025
Added to ENISA EUVD
Mar 19, 2025
Last updated
Sep 24, 2026
Weakness Type
- CWE-36 Absolute Path Traversal
References
- advisoryhttps://labs.watchtowr.com/the-best-security-is-when-we-all-agree-to-keep-everything-secret-except-the-secrets-nakivo-backup-replication-cve-2024-48248/
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
FAQ
Common Questions.
NAKIVO Backup & Replication before 11.0.0.88174 allows absolute path traversal for reading files via getImageByPath to /c/router (this may lead to remote code execution across the enterprise because PhysicalDiscovery has cleartext credentials).
Affected: Backup \& Replication Director (Nakivo); Backup & Replication Director. The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Mar 16, 2025.
Yes. It was added on Mar 19, 2025 with a federal remediation due date of Apr 9, 2025.
Public exploit code is available.
Fixed versions are available, including Backup & Replication Director 11.0.0.88174, Backup \& Replication Director 11.0.0.88174.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2024-48248 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo