CVE-2024-45519
CriticalExploitedPublic exploitThe postjournal service in Zimbra Collaboration (ZCS) before 8.8.15 Patch 46, 9 before 9.0.0 Patch 41, 10 before 10.0.9, and 10.1 before 10.1.1 sometimes allows unauthenticated users to execute commands.
Published Sep 30, 2024 · Updated Oct 8, 2026
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2024-45519 is a critical-severity vulnerability (CVSS 9.8 v3.1) affecting Zimbra Collaboration Suite (Synacor).
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Oct 1, 2024. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 100% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including Zimbra Collaboration Suite 8.8.15.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
9.8
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
100%
Higher than 99.9% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2024-45519 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
The postjournal service in Zimbra Collaboration (ZCS) before 8.8.15 Patch 46, 9 before 9.0.0 Patch 41, 10 before 10.0.9, and 10.1 before 10.1.1 sometimes allows unauthenticated users to execute commands.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | Oct 3, 2024 | Oct 24, 2024 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | Oct 1, 2024 | Oct 24, 2024 | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Oct 3, 2024 | Oct 24, 2024 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | Oct 3, 2024 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Affected Products
91 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| Zimbra Collaboration SuiteSynacor | 10.1.0, 8.8.15, 8.8.15-p1, 8.8.15-p10, 8.8.15-p11, 8.8.15-p12, 8.8.15-p13, 8.8.15-p14 | 8.8.15 |
Patched Releases
Zimbra Collaboration Suite
8.8.15
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Sep 30, 2024
Added to Industry KEV feed
Oct 1, 2024
Added to CISA KEV
Oct 3, 2024
Added to CIRCL KEV
Oct 3, 2024
Added to ENISA EUVD
Oct 3, 2024
Last updated
Oct 8, 2026
Weakness Type
- CWE-78 Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in an OS Command ('OS Command Injection')
References
- advisoryhttps://github.com/CVEProject/cvelistV5/tree/main/cves/2024/45xxx/CVE-2024-45519.json
- advisoryhttps://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-45519
- advisoryhttps://wiki.zimbra.com/wiki/Zimbra_Security_Advisories
- advisoryUSOM advisory
- exploithttps://blog.projectdiscovery.io/zimbra-remote-code-execution/
FAQ
Common Questions.
The postjournal service in Zimbra Collaboration (ZCS) before 8.8.15 Patch 46, 9 before 9.0.0 Patch 41, 10 before 10.0.9, and 10.1 before 10.1.1 sometimes allows unauthenticated users to execute commands.
Affected: Zimbra Collaboration Suite (Synacor) versions 10.1.0, 8.8.15, 8.8.15-p1, 8.8.15-p10, 8.8.15-p11, 8.8.15-p12, 8.8.15-p13, 8.8.15-p14. The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Oct 1, 2024.
Yes. It was added on Oct 3, 2024 with a federal remediation due date of Oct 24, 2024.
Public exploit code is available.
Fixed versions are available, including Zimbra Collaboration Suite 8.8.15.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2024-45519 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo