CVE-2024-2389
CriticalExploitedPublic exploitIn Flowmon versions prior to 11.1.14 and 12.3.5, an operating system command injection vulnerability has been identified.
Published Apr 2, 2024 · Updated Dec 16, 2025
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2024-2389 is a critical-severity vulnerability (CVSS 9.8 v3.1) affecting Flowmon (Progress).
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV since Apr 26, 2024. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 93% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including Flowmon 11.1.14, Flowmon 12.3.5.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
9.8
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
93%
Higher than 99.8% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
2 catalog listings
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2024-2389 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
In Flowmon versions prior to 11.1.14 and 12.3.5, an operating system command injection vulnerability has been identified. An unauthenticated user can gain entry to the system via the Flowmon management interface, allowing for the execution of arbitrary system commands.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Industry KEV feed | Apr 26, 2024 | n/a | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Apr 26, 2024 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply remediations or mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if remediation or mitigations are unavailable.
Affected Products
2 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| FlowmonProgress | >= 11.X | 11.1.14 |
Patched Releases
Flowmon
11.1.14, 12.3.5
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Apr 2, 2024
Added to Industry KEV feed
Apr 26, 2024
Added to CIRCL KEV
Apr 26, 2024
Last updated
Dec 16, 2025
Weakness Type
- CWE-78 Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in an OS Command ('OS Command Injection')
References
- advisoryhttps://support.kemptechnologies.com/hc/en-us/articles/24878235038733-CVE-2024-2389-Flowmon-critical-security-vulnerability
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
FAQ
Common Questions.
In Flowmon versions prior to 11.1.14 and 12.3.5, an operating system command injection vulnerability has been identified.
Affected: Flowmon (Progress) versions >= 11.X. The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV since Apr 26, 2024.
No, it is not currently listed in the CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog.
Public exploit code is available.
Fixed versions are available, including Flowmon 11.1.14, Flowmon 12.3.5.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2024-2389 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo