CVE-2023-49897
HighExploitedPublic exploitAn OS command injection vulnerability exists in AE1021PE firmware version 2.0.9 and earlier and AE1021 firmware version 2.0.9 and earlier.
Published Dec 6, 2023 · Updated Oct 24, 2025
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2023-49897 is a high-severity vulnerability (CVSS 8.8 v3.1) affecting Ae1021 Firmware (Fxc), Ae1021pe Firmware (Fxc), AE1021 and 1 more product.
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Dec 6, 2023. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 50% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including Ae1021 Firmware 2.0.10, Ae1021pe Firmware 2.0.10.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
8.8
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
50%
Higher than 98.9% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2023-49897 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
An OS command injection vulnerability exists in AE1021PE firmware version 2.0.9 and earlier and AE1021 firmware version 2.0.9 and earlier. If this vulnerability is exploited, an arbitrary OS command may be executed by an attacker who can log in to the product.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | Dec 21, 2023 | Jan 11, 2024 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | Dec 6, 2023 | Jan 11, 2024 | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Dec 21, 2023 | Jan 11, 2024 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | Dec 21, 2023 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Affected Products
4 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| Ae1021 FirmwareFxc | See advisory | 2.0.10 |
| Ae1021pe FirmwareFxc | See advisory | 2.0.10 |
| AE1021 | >= 2.0.9 and earlier | n/a |
| AE1021PE | >= 2.0.9 and earlier | n/a |
Patched Releases
Ae1021 Firmware
2.0.10
Ae1021pe Firmware
2.0.10
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Dec 6, 2023
Added to Industry KEV feed
Dec 6, 2023
Added to CISA KEV
Dec 21, 2023
Added to CIRCL KEV
Dec 21, 2023
Added to ENISA EUVD
Dec 21, 2023
Last updated
Oct 24, 2025
Weakness Type
- CWE-78 Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in an OS Command ('OS Command Injection')
References
- advisoryhttps://jvn.jp/en/vu/JVNVU92152057/
- advisoryhttps://www.cisa.gov/news-events/ics-advisories/icsa-23-355-01
- advisoryhttps://www.fxc.jp/news/20231206
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
FAQ
Common Questions.
An OS command injection vulnerability exists in AE1021PE firmware version 2.0.9 and earlier and AE1021 firmware version 2.0.9 and earlier.
Affected: Ae1021 Firmware (Fxc); Ae1021pe Firmware (Fxc); AE1021 versions >= 2.0.9 and earlier, among others. The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Dec 6, 2023.
Yes. It was added on Dec 21, 2023 with a federal remediation due date of Jan 11, 2024.
Public exploit code is available.
Fixed versions are available, including Ae1021 Firmware 2.0.10, Ae1021pe Firmware 2.0.10.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2023-49897 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo