CVE-2022-36553
CriticalExploitedHytec Inter HWL-2511-SS v1.05 and below was discovered to contain a command injection vulnerability via the component /www/cgi-bin/popen.cgi.
Published Aug 29, 2022 · Updated Nov 21, 2024
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2022-36553 is a critical-severity vulnerability (CVSS 9.8 v3.1) affecting Hwl-2511-Ss Firmware (Hytec).
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV since Aug 29, 2022. No public exploit code is known.
- EPSS estimates a 91% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including Hwl-2511-Ss Firmware <=1.05, Hwl-2511-Ss Firmware 1.05.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
9.8
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
91%
Higher than 99.8% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
2 catalog listings
Public exploit code
None known
Get the full CVE-2022-36553 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
Hytec Inter HWL-2511-SS v1.05 and below was discovered to contain a command injection vulnerability via the component /www/cgi-bin/popen.cgi.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Industry KEV feed | Jan 21, 2024 | n/a | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Aug 29, 2022 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply remediations or mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if remediation or mitigations are unavailable.
Affected Products
1 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| Hwl-2511-Ss FirmwareHytec | See advisory | 1.05 |
Patched Releases
Hwl-2511-Ss Firmware
<=1.05
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Aug 29, 2022
Added to CIRCL KEV
Aug 29, 2022
Added to Industry KEV feed
Jan 21, 2024
Last updated
Nov 21, 2024
Weakness Type
- CWE-77 Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in a Command ('Command Injection')
References
- advisoryhttps://hytec.co.jp/eng/products/our-brand/hwl-2511-ss.html
- advisoryhttps://hytec.co.jp/eng/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/hwl-2511-ss-ds.3.0.pdf
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
FAQ
Common Questions.
Hytec Inter HWL-2511-SS v1.05 and below was discovered to contain a command injection vulnerability via the component /www/cgi-bin/popen.cgi.
Affected: Hwl-2511-Ss Firmware (Hytec). The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV since Aug 29, 2022.
No, it is not currently listed in the CISA Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog.
No public exploit code is known.
Fixed versions are available, including Hwl-2511-Ss Firmware <=1.05, Hwl-2511-Ss Firmware 1.05.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2022-36553 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo