CVE-2021-22899
HighExploitedPublic exploitA command injection vulnerability exists in Pulse Connect Secure before 9.1R11.4 allows a remote authenticated attacker to perform remote code execution via Windows Resource Profiles Feature
Published May 27, 2021 · Updated Dec 17, 2025
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2021-22899 is a high-severity vulnerability (CVSS 8.8 v3.1) affecting Connect Secure (Ivanti), Pulse Connect Secure.
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Aug 20, 2021. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 23% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- No fixed version is listed yet; check the vendor advisory for mitigations.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
8.8
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
23%
Higher than 97.7% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2021-22899 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
A command injection vulnerability exists in Pulse Connect Secure before 9.1R11.4 allows a remote authenticated attacker to perform remote code execution via Windows Resource Profiles Feature
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | Nov 3, 2021 | May 3, 2022 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | Aug 20, 2021 | May 3, 2022 | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Nov 3, 2021 | May 3, 2022 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | Nov 3, 2021 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply updates per vendor instructions.
Affected Products
42 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| Connect SecureIvanti | 9.0, 9.0-r1, 9.0-r1.0, 9.0-r2, 9.0-r2.0, 9.0-r2.1, 9.0-r3, 9.0-r3.0 | n/a |
| Pulse Connect Secure | >= Fixed in 9.1R11.4 | n/a |
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
May 27, 2021
Added to Industry KEV feed
Aug 20, 2021
Added to CISA KEV
Nov 3, 2021
Added to CIRCL KEV
Nov 3, 2021
Added to ENISA EUVD
Nov 3, 2021
Last updated
Dec 17, 2025
Weakness Type
- CWE-77 Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in a Command ('Command Injection')
References
FAQ
Common Questions.
A command injection vulnerability exists in Pulse Connect Secure before 9.1R11.4 allows a remote authenticated attacker to perform remote code execution via Windows Resource Profiles Feature
Affected: Connect Secure (Ivanti) versions 9.0, 9.0-r1, 9.0-r1.0, 9.0-r2, 9.0-r2.0, 9.0-r2.1, 9.0-r3, 9.0-r3.0; Pulse Connect Secure versions >= Fixed in 9.1R11.4. The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Aug 20, 2021.
Yes. It was added on Nov 3, 2021 with a federal remediation due date of May 3, 2022.
Public exploit code is available.
No fixed version is listed yet; check the vendor advisory for mitigations.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2021-22899 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo