CVE-2020-8218
HighExploitedPublic exploitA code injection vulnerability exists in Pulse Connect Secure <9.1R8 that allows an attacker to crafted a URI to perform an arbitrary code execution via the admin web interface.
Published Jul 30, 2020 · Updated Oct 30, 2025
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2020-8218 is a high-severity vulnerability (CVSS 7.2 v3.1) affecting Connect Secure (Ivanti), Policy Secure (Ivanti), Pulse Policy Secure (Pulsesecure) and 1 more product.
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Dec 7, 2020. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 32% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including Connect Secure <=9.0, Pulse Policy Secure <=9.0, Connect Secure 9.0.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
7.2
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
32%
Higher than 98.3% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2020-8218 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
A code injection vulnerability exists in Pulse Connect Secure <9.1R8 that allows an attacker to crafted a URI to perform an arbitrary code execution via the admin web interface.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | Mar 7, 2022 | Sep 7, 2022 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | Dec 7, 2020 | Sep 7, 2022 | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Mar 7, 2022 | Sep 7, 2022 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | Mar 7, 2022 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply updates per vendor instructions.
Affected Products
25 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| Connect SecureIvanti | 9.1, 9.1-r1, 9.1-r2, 9.1-r3, 9.1-r4, 9.1-r4.1, 9.1-r4.2, 9.1-r4.3 | 9.0 |
| Policy SecureIvanti | 9.1, 9.1-r1, 9.1-r2, 9.1-r3, 9.1-r3.1, 9.1-r4, 9.1-r4.1, 9.1-r4.2 | n/a |
| Pulse Policy SecurePulsesecure | See advisory | 9.0 |
| Pulse Connect Secure | >= Fixed in 9.1R8 | n/a |
Patched Releases
Connect Secure
<=9.0
Pulse Policy Secure
<=9.0
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Jul 30, 2020
Added to Industry KEV feed
Dec 7, 2020
Added to CISA KEV
Mar 7, 2022
Added to CIRCL KEV
Mar 7, 2022
Added to ENISA EUVD
Mar 7, 2022
Last updated
Oct 30, 2025
Weakness Type
- CWE-94 Improper Control of Generation of Code ('Code Injection')
References
- advisoryhttps://kb.pulsesecure.net/articles/Pulse_Security_Advisories/SA44516
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploithttps://www.gosecure.net/blog/2020/11/13/forget-your-perimeter-part-2-four-vulnerabilities-in-pulse-connect-secure/
FAQ
Common Questions.
A code injection vulnerability exists in Pulse Connect Secure <9.1R8 that allows an attacker to crafted a URI to perform an arbitrary code execution via the admin web interface.
Affected: Connect Secure (Ivanti) versions 9.1, 9.1-r1, 9.1-r2, 9.1-r3, 9.1-r4, 9.1-r4.1, 9.1-r4.2, 9.1-r4.3; Policy Secure (Ivanti) versions 9.1, 9.1-r1, 9.1-r2, 9.1-r3, 9.1-r3.1, 9.1-r4, 9.1-r4.1, 9.1-r4.2; Pulse Policy Secure (Pulsesecure), among others. The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Dec 7, 2020.
Yes. It was added on Mar 7, 2022 with a federal remediation due date of Sep 7, 2022.
Public exploit code is available.
Fixed versions are available, including Connect Secure <=9.0, Pulse Policy Secure <=9.0, Connect Secure 9.0.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2020-8218 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo