CVE-2020-2551
CriticalExploitedPublic exploitEasily exploitable vulnerability allows unauthenticated attacker with network access via IIOP to compromise Oracle WebLogic Server.
Published Jan 15, 2020 · Updated Jan 12, 2026
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2020-2551 is a critical-severity vulnerability (CVSS 9.8 v3.1) affecting WebLogic Server (Oracle).
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Jun 2, 2023. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 93% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- No fixed version is listed yet; check the vendor advisory for mitigations.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
9.8
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
93%
Higher than 99.8% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2020-2551 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
Vulnerability in the Oracle WebLogic Server product of Oracle Fusion Middleware (component: WLS Core Components). Supported versions that are affected are 10.3.6.0.0, 12.1.3.0.0, 12.2.1.3.0 and 12.2.1.4.0. Easily exploitable vulnerability allows unauthenticated attacker with network access via IIOP to compromise Oracle WebLogic Server. Successful attacks of this vulnerability can result in takeover of Oracle WebLogic Server. CVSS 3.0 Base Score 9.8 (Confidentiality, Integrity and Availability impacts). CVSS Vector: (CVSS:3.0/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H).
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | Nov 16, 2023 | Dec 7, 2023 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | Jun 2, 2023 | Dec 7, 2023 | Not reported |
| CIRCL KEV | Nov 16, 2023 | Dec 7, 2023 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | Nov 16, 2023 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Affected Products
5 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| WebLogic ServerOracle | 10.3.6.0.0, 12.1.3.0.0, 12.2.1.3.0, 12.2.1.4.0, >= 10.3.6.0.0 | n/a |
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Jan 15, 2020
Added to Industry KEV feed
Jun 2, 2023
Added to CISA KEV
Nov 16, 2023
Added to CIRCL KEV
Nov 16, 2023
Added to ENISA EUVD
Nov 16, 2023
Last updated
Jan 12, 2026
References
- patchhttps://www.oracle.com/security-alerts/cpujan2020.html
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
- exploitVulnCheck exploitation report
FAQ
Common Questions.
Vulnerability in the Oracle WebLogic Server product of Oracle Fusion Middleware (component: WLS Core Components).
Affected: WebLogic Server (Oracle) versions 10.3.6.0.0, 12.1.3.0.0, 12.2.1.3.0, 12.2.1.4.0, >= 10.3.6.0.0. The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since Jun 2, 2023.
Yes. It was added on Nov 16, 2023 with a federal remediation due date of Dec 7, 2023.
Public exploit code is available.
No fixed version is listed yet; check the vendor advisory for mitigations.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2020-2551 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo