CVE-2013-2423
LowExploitedPublic exploitOpenJDK: incorrect setter access checks in MethodHandles (Hostspot, 8009677)
Published Apr 16, 2013 · Updated Oct 22, 2025
Key Facts
Patch immediately- CVE-2013-2423 is a low-severity vulnerability (CVSS 3.7 v3.1) affecting Jre (Oracle), Ubuntu Linux (Canonical), Opensuse and 16 more products.
- It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since May 20, 2013 and is known to be used in ransomware campaigns. Public exploit code is available.
- EPSS estimates a 85% probability of exploitation in the next 30 days.
- Fixed versions are available, including java 1.7.0-ibm-1:1.7.0.4.2-1jpp.1.el5_9, java 1.7.0-ibm-1:1.7.0.4.2-1jpp.1.el6_4, java-1_7_0-openjdk 1.7.0.121-1.1.
- Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
CVSS v3.1
3.7
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:L/A:N
EPSS (30-day exploit likelihood)
85%
Higher than 99.7% of all scored CVEs
Exploited in the wild
Yes
4 catalog listings, used by ransomware
Public exploit code
Available
Proof-of-concept or weaponized module
Get the full CVE-2013-2423 brief as a PDF
Every affected product and fixed release, exploitation status and a first 24 hours response checklist, emailed within minutes.
Description
Unspecified vulnerability in the Java Runtime Environment (JRE) component in Oracle Java SE 7 Update 17 and earlier, and OpenJDK 7, allows remote attackers to affect integrity via unknown vectors related to HotSpot. NOTE: the previous information is from the April 2013 CPU. Oracle has not commented on claims from the original researcher that this vulnerability allows remote attackers to bypass permission checks by the MethodHandles method and modify arbitrary public final fields using reflection and type confusion, as demonstrated using integer and double fields to disable the security manager.
Known-Exploited Catalog Listings
| Catalog | Added | Remediation due | Ransomware use |
|---|---|---|---|
| CISA KEV | May 25, 2022 | Jun 15, 2022 | Not reported |
| Industry KEV feed | May 20, 2013 | Jun 15, 2022 | Known |
| CIRCL KEV | May 25, 2022 | Jun 15, 2022 | Not reported |
| ENISA EUVD | May 25, 2022 | n/a | Not reported |
Required action: Apply updates per vendor instructions.
Affected Products
42 affected entries in total| Product | Affected versions | Fixed in |
|---|---|---|
| JreOracle | 1.7.0, 1.7.0-update1, 1.7.0-update10, 1.7.0-update11, 1.7.0-update13, 1.7.0-update15, 1.7.0-update2, 1.7.0-update3 | n/a |
| Ubuntu LinuxCanonical | 12.10 | n/a |
| OpensuseOpensuse | 12.3 | n/a |
| java-1.7.0-openjdk-demoamazon | See advisory | 1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.25.amzn1 |
| java-1.7.0-openjdk-develamazon | See advisory | 1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.25.amzn1 |
Patched Releases
java
1.7.0-ibm-1:1.7.0.4.2-1jpp.1.el5_9, 1.7.0-ibm-1:1.7.0.4.2-1jpp.1.el6_4
java-1_7_0-openjdk
1.7.0.121-1.1
java-1_7_0-openjdk-accessibility
1.7.0.121-1.1
java-1_7_0-openjdk-bootstrap
1.7.0.121-1.1
java-1_7_0-openjdk-bootstrap-devel
1.7.0.121-1.1
java-1_7_0-openjdk-bootstrap-headless
1.7.0.121-1.1
java-1_7_0-openjdk-demo
1.7.0.121-1.1
java-1_7_0-openjdk-devel
1.7.0.121-1.1
java-1_7_0-openjdk-headless
1.7.0.121-1.1
java-1_7_0-openjdk-javadoc
1.7.0.121-1.1
java-1_7_0-openjdk-src
1.7.0.121-1.1
java-1.7.0-openjdk
1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.0.1.el5_9, 1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.0.1.el6_4, 1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.25.amzn1
java-1.7.0-openjdk-demo
1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.0.1.el5_9, 1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.0.1.el6_4, 1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.25.amzn1
java-1.7.0-openjdk-devel
1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.0.1.el5_9, 1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.0.1.el6_4, 1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.25.amzn1
java-1.7.0-openjdk-javadoc
1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.0.1.el5_9, 1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.0.1.el6_4, 1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.25.amzn1
java-1.7.0-openjdk-src
1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.0.1.el5_9, 1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.0.1.el6_4, 1:1.7.0.19-2.3.9.1.25.amzn1
Timeline
Publicly disclosed
Apr 16, 2013
Added to Industry KEV feed
May 20, 2013
Added to CISA KEV
May 25, 2022
Added to CIRCL KEV
May 25, 2022
Added to ENISA EUVD
May 25, 2022
Last updated
Oct 22, 2025
Weakness Type
- CWE-284 Improper Access Control
References
- advisoryopenSUSE-SU-2013:0964
- advisoryRHSA-2013:0752
- advisoryRHSA-2013:0757
- advisoryRHSA-2013:0751
- advisoryRHSA-2013:0752
FAQ
Common Questions.
Unspecified vulnerability in the Java Runtime Environment (JRE) component in Oracle Java SE 7 Update 17 and earlier, and OpenJDK 7, allows remote attackers to affect integrity via unknown vectors related to HotSpot.
Affected: Jre (Oracle) versions 1.7.0, 1.7.0-update1, 1.7.0-update10, 1.7.0-update11, 1.7.0-update13, 1.7.0-update15, 1.7.0-update2, 1.7.0-update3; Ubuntu Linux (Canonical) versions 12.10; Opensuse versions 12.3, among others. The full list is in the CVE brief.
It is exploited in the wild, listed in CISA KEV, Industry KEV feed, CIRCL KEV, ENISA EUVD since May 20, 2013 and is known to be used in ransomware campaigns.
Yes. It was added on May 25, 2022 with a federal remediation due date of Jun 15, 2022.
Public exploit code is available.
Fixed versions are available, including java 1.7.0-ibm-1:1.7.0.4.2-1jpp.1.el5_9, java 1.7.0-ibm-1:1.7.0.4.2-1jpp.1.el6_4, java-1_7_0-openjdk 1.7.0.121-1.1.
Brandefense priority: patch immediately, because it is listed as exploited in the wild.
Is CVE-2013-2423 Running On Your Attack Surface?
Brandefense maps vulnerabilities like this one to your internet-facing assets and tells you exactly where to patch.
Request A Demo